Hubert and Rahel named AFS fellows

Dr. Wayne Hubert and Dr. Frank Rahel were recently named inaugural fellows of the American Fisheries Society (AFS). The AFS Fellows of the Society program recognizes members who have made exceptional contributions to the field. Both professors have made outstanding contributions to the fisheries profession in Wyoming and nation-wide. Many of the fisheries managers in the state of Wyoming were trained by Dr. Hubert and Dr. Rahel.

Dr. Hubert joined the Wyoming Coop Research Unit as an Assistant Unit Leader for Fisheries in 1982 and became a Unit Leader in 2005. He retired in 2010. He also served as president of the AFS and has edited several books for the society. He has focused his research on fish habitat and population management in the Rocky Mountains and the Great Plains.

Dr. Rahel is a current professor and former department head for UW’s Zoology and Physiology department. He has focused his research on streams, habitat relationships, and landscape ecology as they relate to fish ecology. He was awarded the John P. Ellbogen Meritorious Classroom Teaching Award in 2000 for excellence in teaching and mentoring students.